We create revolutionary devices for ligament reconstruction
 Siehe Details

Standard Optionen für vordere Kreuzband (VKB) Rekonstruktionen

Option I: Oberschenkelsehnen-Transplantat

Die Oberschenkelsehnen-Methode ist zwar weniger schmerzhaft, doch dauert das Verheilen der Wunde nach dem Eingriff im Knie länger und es besteht ein höheres Risiko für Ausrisse.

Option II: Knochen-Sehnen-Knochen (eng: BTB) Transplantat

Ein BTB Transplantat weist insofern bessere Eigenschaften auf, als die Eingriffsstelle schneller verheilt und das Knie belastbarer ist, jedoch auf Kosten eines höheren Schmerzrisikos auf der Transplantat Entnahmestelle.

Less pain Inferior healing
Risk of pain Faster healing

Alle bis anhin existierenden klinischen Vorgehensweisen sind mit der Wahl zwischen postoperativem Schmerz bei der Entnahmestelle und mechanischer Stabilität konfrontiert.

Unsere Lösung

Unsere Lösung

Unser BTB-Conversion-Kit™ macht sich die Vorteile der beiden existierenden Methoden zu Nutze und umgeht dabei deren Nachteile. Mehr als fünf Jahre translatorische Forschung und Entwicklung in Zusammenarbeit mit führenden Schweizer Orthopäden kulminieren nun in ein für uns vielversprechendes, neuartiges Implantat. Das BTB-Conversion-Kit™ beruht auf einer Kombination fortschrittlicher Biomaterialien, welche die Einheilung des Transplantates beschleunigen und gleichzeitig den postoperativen Schmerz sowie die Rehabilitationszeit minimieren.

  Wie es funktioniert

BTB-Conversion-Kit™

Schnelleres Verheilen, weniger Schmerz

Das BTB-Convertion-Kit™ besteht aus zwei identischen BTB-Converter™ Elementen, die mit patentierten Neuentwicklungen versehen wurden, welche das Implantat osteokonduktiv (fördert die Knochenentwicklung) und vollständig bioresorbierbar machen. Der BTB-Converter™ wandelt ein Oberschenkelsehnentransplantat (oder jedes andere präparierte Sehnenmaterial) in ein BTB-ähnliches Implantat mit beschleunigter Transplantat-zu-Knochen-Bindung um.

Das Implantat setzt weder spezielle Operationsinstrumente, noch ein aufwendiges chirurgisches Training voraus, was eine einfache Übernahme in den OP-Saal ermöglicht. Die neu geschaffenen Vorteile sind für Chirurg und Patient leicht nachvollziehbar.

Device Benefits: Fig 1Oberschenkelsehne
Device Benefits: Fig 2
Device Benefits: Fig 32x BTB-Converter™
Device Benefits: Fig 4
Device Benefits: Fig 5BTB-ähnliches Implantat
Device Benefits: Fig 6
Device Benefits: Fig 7VKB Rekonstruktion mit umgewandelter BTB Methode
  Siehe Vorteile

Potentielle Vorteile einer BTB Conversion Kit™ VKB Rekonstruktion

13
Weniger Schmerz*
Kürzere Operationszeit
Ham.
BTB
Bessere Leistung / weniger Revisionen**

* Pain-related complications for a hamstring graft have been reported to be one third compared to standard BTB grafts. Kautzner, et. al., International Orthopaedics 2014
** Revision rates after 5 years for BTB grafts are 33% lower compared to standard hamstring grafts. Gifstad, et. al., The American Journal of Sports Medicine 2014; Registry study based on 45,998 patients

  Über uns

Über ZuriMED

ZuriMED ist ein innovatives Team, welches sich in den Bereichen orthopädische Biomechanik und Biomaterialien spezialisiert hat.

Seit der Gründung haben wir unseren Sitz im Labor für Orthopädische Biomechanik im Universitätsspital Balgrist – einer der führenden orthopädischen Kliniken in der Schweiz.

Das ZuriMED Team erfindet und entwickelt orthopädische Implantate seit 2009. Bis jetzt entwickelten, patentierten und testeten wir drei voll funktionsfähige Implantate (BTB Conversion Kit™, EndoCLIP™, ZuriACL™).

  Acknowledgements

Acknowledgements

Der Balgrist Universität Zürich ETH Zürich XJTU Xi'an Jiaotong University RMS  Fundation Unitectra ETH Innovation und Entrepreneurship Lab (ieLab) Venture Kick Hasler Stiftung StarTech Custp CSC ETH Foundation Zürich VentureLab swissnex Venture Leaders Venture Mathys Medical ETH Spinoff IMD ETH Transfer

We create revolutionary devices for ligament reconstruction
 View Detail

Standard options for Anterior Cruciate Ligament (ACL) Reconstruction

Option I: Hamstring Tendon Graft

The hamstring grafting approach is less painful, but with lower performance attributable to slower healing and higher risk of pull-out.

Option II: Bone-Tendon-Bone (BTB) Graft

A BTB graft offers higher performance with faster healing and improved strength, but at the cost of potentially severe pain at the graft extraction site.

Less pain Inferior healing
Risk of pain Faster healing

All existing clinical approaches represent a forced choice between postoperative pain at the graft source and mechanical stability of the reconstruction.

View Our Solution

Our Solution

Our BTB-Conversion-Kit™ is able to harness the advantages of existing approaches while avoiding their disadvantages. Over five years of translational research and development in collaboration with leading Swiss orthopaedic surgeons has culminated in what we expect will be a revolutionary device for ACL reconstruction. The BTB-Conversion-Kit™ relies on a novel combination of advanced biomaterials to dramatically accelerate graft healing, while minimizing postoperative pain and time for recovery.

  How It Works


Faster healing, less pain

The BTB-Conversion-Kit™ contains two identical BTB-Converter™ elements, each featuring patented innovations that make the devices osteoconductive (promoting bone healing) and fully bioresorbable. The BTB-Converter™ effectively upgrades a less painful hamstring graft (or any other flexible graft material) into a higher performance BTB-like graft, with accelerated graft to bone attachment.

The device requires no special instrumentation or additional surgical training, facilitating its adoption in the operating room. The potential benefits for the patient are immediately recognizable to the surgeon and patient.

Device Benefits: Fig 1Less painful Hamstring Graft Device Benefits: Fig 2 Device Benefits: Fig 32x BTB-Converter™ Device Benefits: Fig 4 Device Benefits: Fig 5BTB-like Graft Device Benefits: Fig 6 Device Benefits: Fig 7ACL Reconstruction with BTB Conversion Approach
  View Advantages

We expect that the potential benefits with our BTB-Conversion-Kit™ are:

Less pain*
Shorter operation time
Fewer revisions**

* Pain-related complications for a hamstring graft have been reported to be one third compared to standard BTB grafts. Kautzner, et. al., International Orthopaedics 2014
** Revision rates after 5 years for BTB grafts are 33% lower compared to standard hamstring grafts. Gifstad, et. al., The American Journal of Sports Medicine 2014; Registry study based on 45,998 patients

  About Us

About ZuriMED

ZuriMED is an innovative team specialized in orthopedic biomechanics and biomaterials.

We originated in and are currently based at the Laboratory for Orthopedic Biomechanics at the University Hospital Balgrist – one of the leading Orthopedic clinics in Switzerland.

The ZuriMED team has been inventing and developing orthopedic implants since 2009. We have developed, rigorously tested, and patented three fully featured devices (BTB Conversion Kit™, EndoCLIP™, ZuriACL™).



Der Balgrist Universität Zürich ETH Zürich XJTU Xi'an Jiaotong University RMS  Fundation Unitectra ETH Innovation und Entrepreneurship Lab (ieLab) Venture Kick Hasler Stiftung StarTech Custp CSC ETH Foundation Zürich VentureLab swissnex Venture Leaders Venture Mathys Medical ETH Spinoff IMD ETH Transfer